Our History


The history of FL Soccer SRC, Inc. (FLSRC) which began in 1964, is really about the life and accomplishments of Hall of Fame Member Mario H. “Mack” Alarcon.    In 1963, Mack co-founded the Florida Youth Soccer Association as well as the adult Florida State Soccer Association.  Mack organized Florida’s first referee program in 1964 originally named Florida State Referees (FSR).   In 1965, Mack, along with his friends Fred Stauber and Ray Thompson, became the first three people in the entire southeastern United States to register as referees with the United States Soccer Federation.  Mack served as the first State (Youth) Referee Administrator (S[Y]RA) of FSR for many years.   Mack’s long soccer resume is legendary.

There has been many SRA’s over the years.

Mack Alarcon 1964-1978

Dr. Roger Shuler 1978-1983

Fred Usher 1984-1985

Dr. Joseph Meeroff 1986-1987

Charles Rodney Kenney 1988-1991

Robert Vomacka 1992-1999

Jack Holland 2000-2001

Jozsef Michna 2002-2015

In November 2015, the then President of Florida Youth Soccer Association, Marino Torrens, and Florida State Soccer Association President Richard Moeller, changed the organizational composition of the Florida State Referee Committee (FLSRC).  The Florida State Referees, Inc. name was changed to FL Soccer SRC, Inc.  There were eight (8) members created for the Board of Directors of FL Soccer SRC, Inc. The two State Presidents plus one each of their appointees are passive SRC members.  The State Directors of Assessment (SDA), Instruction (SDI), Referee Assignors (SDRA), and the State Referee Administrator/State Youth Referee Administrator [S(Y)RA] are active operational members of the SRC.  FLSRC follows the US Soccer model established for the composition of a state referee committee.

According to US Soccer policy the SRA is appointed by FSSA and the SYRA is appointed by the FYSA in consultation with the SRA.  An SRA can also serve as the SYRA which was always the custom in Florida since the founding in 1964 by Mac Alarcon.  On January 1, 2016, Abrom Douglas Jr. was appointed as the first S(Y)RA of the newly constituted FL Soccer SRC, Inc.

In January 2021 The Florida State Soccer Association (FSSA) was renamed the Florida Adult Soccer Association (FASA).

During a FLSRC Board of Directors meeting on February 8, 2021, the recently elected (August 2020) FYSA President Kai Velmer, along with guest Joel Dragan, Executive Director of FYSA inquired as to why the SRA/SYRA was the same person.  Dragan stated where he came from (Kansas – Michigan) the SRA and SYRA were not the same person.  Kai stated that the youth side was unhappy and may need a new SYRA.  In April 2021 FYSA appointed their own SYRA, John Bauman who was a longtime FSR/FLSRC administrator.  The split between FYSA and FASA  ended a 57 year joint agreement of understanding between the two associations in recognizing one single Referee Administrator in the State of Florida.

Abrom Douglas Jr. SRA 2016-2021
John Bauman SYRA 2021-

Christina E. Unkel SRA 2022-